Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase 3 Announced

With speculative outlines of the Marvel Cinematic Universe phases and release dates circling the web, it's nice to finally get the full picture! During a special presentation event by Marvel at the El Capitan Theater in Los Angeles earlier today, Marvel announced the full slate for their Phase 3 films.

A film for Marvel's Civil War story arc which was released in 2006-2007 has been announced as the title for Captain America's Phase 3 film. Chris Evans will be reprising his role as Captain America, as will Robert Downy Jr. as Iron Man.

Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige announced new blood too, introducing Chadwick Boseman (Get On Up, 42) as T'Challa, The Black Panther who will make his debut in Captain America: Civil War. Also announced is a Black Panther movie which will be released the year following The Captain America flick.


  • Captain America: Civil War (May 6, 2016)
  • Doctor Strange (November 4, 2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (May 5, 2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (July 26, 2017)
  • Black Panther (November 3, 2017)
  • Avengers: Infinity War - Part 1 (May 4, 2018)
  • Captain Marvel (July 6, 2018)
  • Inhumans (November 2, 2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War - Part 2 (May 3, 2019)

With all the rumors circulating about Benedict Cumberbatch being in negotiations with Marvel to play the Sorcerer Supreme in the Doctor Strange movie, many were speculating that it would be one of the announcements made at Marvel's press event today. Still crossing my fingers for that one!


More on Marvel Pits Captain America and Iron Man in a Cinematic Civil War

I am looking forward to Captain Marvel as it will be the first female solo lead film in the Marvel universe so far. I tell you though, I CAN'T WAIT THIS LONG FOR THE NEXT GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY! *cries*.




Pete's Basement on Google+